Welcome to Red River County, TX Genealogy Resources

Red River County is located in the northeastern corner of Texas, on the Oklahoma border. Clarksville is the county seat.

During the First Congress of the Republic of Texas, the Red River district was little more than a vaguely defined area encompassing all or part of the land of thirty-nine present counties. Red River County was formally delineated by an act signed by President Sam Houston on December 14, 1837, which divided the Red River District into two counties, Fannin and Red River. Red River County, as defined by the 1837 act, included all or part of lands now belonging to Lamar, Hopkins, Delta, Franklin, Titus, Morris, Cass, Marion, and Bowie counties. The act called for the first county courts to be held at LaGrange (later Madras) until a commission to be appointed by the county court could ascertain the proper location for a county seat. When the commissioners chose Clarksville in 1838, some residents of LaGrange tried unsuccessfully to reverse the ruling. New counties established in 1840 and 1846 reduced Red River County to its current size. From its founding the county grew in population slowly but steadily. By 1860 residents numbered 8,535. As in many other parts of North Texas, problems with adequate transportation probably served to inhibit the county's growth. The Red River was generally navigable for a part of the year, but when the river was low, produce and supplies had to be hauled to and from Jefferson, 100 miles to the southeast. The population of the county was overwhelmingly rural.

Source: Cecil Harper, Jr., "RED RIVER COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcr05), accessed March 06, 2014. Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

For questions, corrections, additions or concerns regarding this website, please e-mail
the webmaster.

Special thanks to Lawrence and Sue Dale for their years of work gathering the information and sharing these records with the genealogical community. Some of the pictures in the banner are used courtesy of Lawrence and Sue Dale. Without them, this website would not exist!

Other contributers are Carol Hammack, Richard L. and Gertrud (Rodemers) Hankins and William and Bridget Domengeaux.

Copyright © 2014 - present - The Red River County TX Website Team
All Rights Reserved. Limited use rights may be granted by written or electronic permission.